Once a Room is created, its Settings can be edited at any time by Room Admins only. Power Users won't see this option unless they are Room Creators.
You can access Settings by clicking on Manage room menu or right clicking the room from My Rooms page and selecting the "Settings" option (this last option is for Admins only).
All settings below can be updated and after clicking "Save Changes" button, all changes will take effect.
Room Name: name of the Room that will be displayed in My Rooms list. This field is required therefore it cannot be blank. Changing this name will change the room's Root folder.
Time Zone: can be changed from the dropdown list.
Client: can be changed by choosing an existing Client from the dropdown list. This field is also required.
Matter ID: it's a matter billing number or description that may be assigned to the Room. This field can be optional or required depending on the value of SiteSettingKeyEnum 54. When required, an additional validation occurs. The combination of Client and Matter ID must be unique.
Please refer to Configuring Site Settings article for additional information.
Require 2nd Level Approval to Invite Users: when checked, this option requires that Users invited to the Room go through an approval process in order to access the Room. Please refer to 2nd Level Approval for Room Invitations article for additional information.
Require Nondisclosure Agreement: when checked, this option requires that Users acknowledge and agree to the room's NDA before entering the room. By clicking Edit NDA, the user can change the English, Japanese, Korean and Spanish NDA text at room level.
Turn off Room Alerts and Emails: when checked, this option prevents all room emails from being sent. Not even the Invitation to Room email is sent to the users.
Upload files with same filename and folder path as a new version: when checked, folders and files will be overridden generating a new document version. This setting doesn't apply when uploading list item attachments, documents through Document Requests and/or moving/copying documents through Index View or Room Compare.
Inherit Room Role Folder For Second Level Folder
Watermarks are labels put on documents that show ownership over that material. They usually provide copyright protection for intellectual property that's in digital format.
Apply Watermarks to All Folders: if this option is checked, all documents in the room will be watermarked. On Room Groups, Download Native and Watermarked columns are hidden.
Use Email as Watermark Text: this option will cause watermarked content in the Room to display the User's email address as part of the watermark text.
Use Current Date as Watermark Text: this option will cause watermarked content in the Room to display Current Date and Time as part of the watermark text.
Watermark Free Text: the text (multiline field) entered by the user will appear as watermark. If the Use Email and/or Current Date as Watermark Text options are also selected, all texts will be concatenated and shown at the same time.
Advanced Watermark Settings: the Color, Font Size and Transparency of the watermark text can also be customized.
This section lists all tasks that can be executed when documents are uploaded. The ones checked will be executed.
- Extract Archive: when this option is checked, all archive's uploaded will be extracted. If the option is unchecked, archives will be uploaded and its content will not be extracted.
- Pre-Cache: when this option is checked, the documents will be pre-cached and therefore loaded in a faster way.
- OCR: Having this option checked will OCR all applicable documents during upload.
- Index: if this option is checked, documents will be indexed so that they can be searchable.
- Metadata: if checked, metadata will be collected from the uploaded documents
- Hashcode: when this option is checked, each document will be assigned a unique alphanumeric value to uniquely identify it.
- Transcode: when this option is checked, video files will be converted so they can be reproduced in the browser's viewer. It's important to check this setting when uploading files with extensions: .mp4, .webm, .avi, .mov, .mpg, .mpeg, .mts
- Execute Dedupe: when this option is checked, duplicated documents (uploaded to Data Source folders) are removed from the room. Available on Ediscovery rooms only.
- Perform Email Thread Analysis: when this option is checked, documents uploaded to Data Source folders go thru the ETA process. Available on Ediscovery rooms only.
OCR Engines Available: The engine used to OCR documents can be changed from this dropdown. All available engines for the current room will be listed.
Expected Document Languages: Select one or more languages that are expected to be in the documents to be uploaded. Available languages are: English, Chinese Simplified, Chinese Traditional, Japanese, Korean, Spanish and Arabic.
OCR PDFs containing text: If this option is selected, the application will OCR PDF documents. If this option is not selected, the application will not OCR PDF documents and will attempt to extract any text that may already exist in the PDF text layer.
Automatic Document Deletion
This section allows to enable/disable Automatic Document Deletion in the room.
If the room didn't originally have this feature on, when it's enabled documents previously uploaded will show Flagged/Actual Dates empty. New documents will have Flagged/Actual dates calculated based on their upload date and the days specified in each setting.
This section allows to enable/disable eDiscovery Mode in the room.
When this feature is turned On, Execute Dedupe and Perform Email Thread Analysis room settings are enabled.
If the room didn't originally have Ediscovery Mode on, when enabled Review Sets, eDiscovery Sources and Productions folders will be shown.