The application allows to manage users and perform several actions on them in a very easy and quick way. Admins and users with Manage Users And Permissions room permission can manage room's users.
Power Users won't see this option unless they are Room Creators.
In order to Manage Room Users, you can either click on Room Users option under Manage room menu or select the same option by right clicking the room from My Rooms page (this last option is for Admins only).
Manage Room Users page will display All users belonging to the room.
"User Actions" dropdown selector lists all actions that can be performed on the selected users
Invite New Users
Users can be added to a room through the "Add New Users Wizard".
Step 1: On the first step of the wizard, users' list must be uploaded. This can be done in different ways:
- Copy and Paste a list of emails (one per line)
- Manually type the list of emails (one per line)
- Drag and drop in the designated area, an Excel file containing multiple users. In this case, you need to download the template from the link, and fill it in.
In this step, Company, User Group, Expiration Date and Second Level Approver can be set for all the users uploaded. On Second step of the wizard all these fields can be changed per user.
- When "Room Admin" user group is selected, Expiration Date will be disabled since this field does not apply to Room Admins.
- If the Room requires 2nd Level Approval, when inviting a user as Room Admin, he will be approver by default. This can't be changed.
Step 2: You can review all users added and make all necessary changes before sending email invitations. You can Edit all user’s information just by clicking on Edit icon on the left side of the user’s email.
You can also edit multiple users at once by selecting them and choosing the appropriate option under "User Actions". These actions are: Change User Company, Change User Group, Change Expiration Date, Change User Approver Status, Change User Language or you can Delete selected users.
Only when Rooms require 2nd Level Approval, the dropdown to select users that will approve the invitations is displayed. This field is mandatory. Please refer to 2nd Level Approval article for additional information.
When the user added already exists in the system, the row background is shown in light red. The information selected in step 1 will be ignored, and the current user's information at Room level is shown on each column.
You can always go back to Step 1, if you need to add more users. Then you go to Step 2 to Send Invitations.
Also, you can choose "Save & Send Later" if you don't want to send invitations right away and you would like to do it at a later time. Next time you open the wizard, you will see the list of users previously saved.
Once you have finished making all the changes, you can click on "Finish: Send Invitations".
Users will receive an Email so that they can register/login and also to notify them that they have been added to the room.
Resend User Invitations
You can re send registration and Invitation to Room emails to the selected users.
Remove Selected Users From Room
Selected users will be removed from the room and therefore will not be able to access it anymore.
You can choose if you want to send notifications to the users being removed or not by checking/unchecking "Send notifications to removed Users?" checkbox. This option will be checked by default or not, depending on the value of SiteSettingKeyEnum 45. Please refer to Configuring Site Settings article for additional information.
Change User Company
Users can be assigned to a different company from the one initially assigned when they were invited to the room. They may also be not assigned to a specific company by selecting "Unknown" option.
Note: On Multitenant sites, this dropdown should show only Companies from the environment the room belongs to. Site companies shouldn’t be displayed.
Change User Group
All users assigned to the room belong to a group with certain Room and Folder Permissions. By using this option, you can assign a user to a different Room/Environment/Global group.
Change Expiration Date
This option allows to change the user’s expiration date. A User having expiration date set will not be able to access the room after that date. He will be able to login but won't see the room on My Rooms page.
Expired users aren't removed from the room. They are still listed as room users and shown with a gray background color.
This option doesn't apply to Room Admins.
Change User Approver Status
On Rooms which require 2nd Level Approval, this option allows to specify who will be able to approve/reject the users invited. This option doesn't apply to Room Admins.
When Rooms don't require 2nd Level Approval, this option is not displayed. Please refer to 2nd Level Approval article for additional information.
Change User Language
This option allows you to change the user’s language. All emails sent to the user will use the language configured.
Send an Email to Users
You can select this option if you need to email room users. A window will be displayed, To field will be automatically populated with the emails if the selected users. Subject and Body fields are both required.
Refresh Logged-in Users' Permissions
This button will be enabled when any of the following changes occur:
- Change User Group
- Changes in Folder Permissions
When clicked, Folders and Documents panels are automatically refreshed for all users currently logged-in.
Some sections of the page are not automatically updated and require the user to manually refresh in order to show/hide the permissions and options currently available:
- Navigation bar
- Advanced Search
- Tools dropdown menu
- Document Details panel